Everything you need to know about Destiny 2’s Steam launch

Destiny 2

Tomorrow is a huge day for Bungie with the launch of Destiny 2 on Steam. The big day gets even bigger with the arrival of the Shadowkeep expansion, marks the start of the Season of the Undying, and brings the “New Light” F2P version on board.

With that said, here are a few things you need to know:

Servers will be down for PC/Steam, Xbox One, and Playstation 4 for a full 24-hours ahead of tomorrow’s launch so don’t look to play today.

PC players can already preload Shadowkeep via Steam. For console players, there’s no specific time for preloading mentioned, but it’s likely to be ready sometime after servers come down. That is currently slated for both XB1/PS4 for about 9:30 am PST/12:30 pm EST.

Bungie is targeting the launch of Shadowkeep for 10:00 am Pacific/1:00 pm Eastern on October 1st. However, there is a chance that lingering maintenance updates could cause login issues for some players. Add in large numbers of players logging in and servers could become unstable for several hours. As a result, Bungie is asking players to be patient.

Learn more about Shadowkeep on the Destiny 2 official site.

Written by
Suzie is an avid gamer and has been since 1995. She lives in the desert with her own personal minion while dreaming of pixel worlds beyond Earth.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.