World of Warcraft: Dragonflight – New Expansion Announced & Details Revealed

Developer Blizzard Entertainment held a special stream to reveal the future of Warcraft. The new expansion, World of Warcraft: Dragonflight, marks the franchise’s return to the world of Azeroth, filled with familiar faces, landscapes and, of course, DRAGONS of all flights and colors – even the bipedal variety!

In Dragonflight, the new high-fantasy chapter of Warcraft, players will be able to reach level 70 and explore the mysterious Dragon Isles, ancestral home of the dragons of Azeroth. Surging with elemental magic and the life energies of Azeroth, the Isles are awakening once more, and it’s up to you to explore their primordial wonder and discover long-forgotten secrets.

For the first time since Legion, players will be able to enjoy a new class – AND a new race! Dominate the Dragon Isles as a newly awakened Dracthyr Evoker, World of Warcraft’s first-ever playable race-and-class combo. Dracthyr Evokers freely switch between two customizable forms—choosing between a humanoid visage, and a fearsome draconic form to battle foes and overcome obstacles.

In addition to choosing their allegiance and playing through unique starting experience, players will be able to customize both the draconic and the humanoid forms of their Dracthyr Evokers. The class features two specializations: players can choose to fight mid-range with claws and fiery breath attacks (Devastation) or draw upon the life-giving magic of renewal to bolster their allies (Preservation). Like the Death Knight and Demon Hunter classes before them, the Dracthyr will start at a higher level, level 58.

Additionally, Dragon Isles feature a new form of aerial movement: Dragonriding. Explore the land and obtain four new Dragon Isles Drakes—unique, customizable mounts that can be truly made your own. With millions of possible combinations to choose from, no two Drakes are the same.

The Dragon Isles are the ancestral home of the dragonflights of Azeroth. When the world was broke apart in the Great Sundering, magic drained away and the land went dormant. As the Dragon Isles awaken, so too do old feuds and long-dormant threats. Players will level through four new zones that make up the Dragon Isles: the roiling Waking Shores; the vast Ohn’ahran Plains; the stark Azure Span; and ancient, majestic Thaldraszus.

But the Dragon Isles are populated with more creatures than just dragons and dragonkin. Players will be able to run into Centaurs, Gnolls, Furbolgs and even Tuskarr alongside some familiar faces – Alexstrasza, Khadgar, Tyrande, Wrathion and more.

Dragonflight brings significant updates to existing game systems. Experience the largest talent system revamp yet, HUD (Heads Up Display) improvements, along with a whole new crafting and profession system, and find new ways to adventure across Azeroth.

  • New Talent System – Gain talent points with each level-up and spend them in two distinct talent trees. Class talent trees feature utility skills for your class, while Specialization trees boost your offensive or healing powers.
  • Professions and Crafting – Become a Dragon Isles artisan and fulfill crafting orders for your realm. Hunt down rare ingredients and create ever more wondrous items as you unlock specializations for your profession.
  • New HUD Interface – The team is revamping WoW’s HUD UI from the ground up. The new edit mode feature allows players to move, tweak, and personalize UI elements like never before, while still retaining a familiar look and feel.

Written by
A lover of all things RPG and TBS, Catherine is always looking for a new fantasy world to get lost in.

Have your say!

0 0

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.